Truffle: The Muslin

2012_0324AC

Another wearable muslin. This one is from a plaid suiting that’s been sitting in the stash for a year or so. (Interesting that a year for fabric stash seems like forever when I have yarn that dates back to high school. My hobbies are clearly on separate timelines.)

2012_0324AH

As usual, the pattern was a-mazing. However my strategy of sewing a size-8 bodice and a 10-skirt didn’t pan out *quite* as well as it did for the Pastille because, for some reason, I cut the ‘size 10′ more along the 6 line. I also totally forgot the darts were there.

I actually cut this out back in December when I first picked up the book. At about two in the morning, if I remember correctly. I’ve decided that plaids+sleep deprivation+cutting is not a good combination.

2012_0324AG

It turned out O.K. though, even though the skirt is a little more snug than I’d like. I’m also liking this dress in plaid without the ruffle, it would be cute with a 3/4 circle skirt for a more retro vibe. I’m already thinking of making one in a Carnegie-Mellon colored tartan since I’m heading there for my M.A. in the fall and I am a giant dork. We’ll see though.

The other fun fitting issue I had was that the whole thing was too long, the darts and most of the shaping was the correct size, it was just all an inch too low and the bodice went past my actual waist. Rather than ripping out the whole thing and adjusting it, I figured out that pinching out the excess at the shoulders fixed everything and made cute little button tabs. So I slapped some buttons on there and the world rejoiced.

2012_0324AL

It isn’t cutting corners if you get a cute design detail out of it, right?

4 thoughts on “Truffle: The Muslin

  1. Pingback: Truffle Dress Inspiration | ChiGarden

  2. Hi there! I just found this post after searching for other people’s experiences of sewing Colette patterns (I’m about to embark on some myself). I love your wearable muslin, especially your button tabs! I’ve been known to make little ‘cheats’ like this myself, and people are none the wiser (in fact, these little features are often complimented!).

Leave a Reply

