The One Dollar Skirt

I wanted to sew something, but did not have the energy or inclination to cut out anything new. I wanted to sew something uncomplicated. A bread and butter, comfort food sort of project.

Enter refashioning.

This is the first project I have ever salvaged from another piece of clothing. Sure, I’ve taken in dresses and adjusted the width of a pant leg but more or less the product was simply a better fitting version of the original.

IMG_4648IMG_4647

This skirt came from a Brooks Brother’s dress I picked up at a thrift store for a dollar (!). It’s made of this really great stretch denim, so even though it was a size smaller than I would normally wear it still fit my hips. My bust, not so much. The upper part was interfaced in such a way that the majority of the stretch was gone.

IMG_4651

So snip snip, the top came off and the upper band on the bust became a narrow waistband. I even managed to salvage the original zipper by simply unzipping the back all the way, unpicking a few inches of zipper above what would be my cut line (to sew into the waistband), cutting away at the skirt, and then continuing on my merry way.

IMG_4655

It is still a little snug, somewhere in the middle on the tightness scale that ranges from Joan Holloway Wiggle Dress to Stuffed Sausage. Hopefully a little more towards the Joanie end than not. Maybe it will be motivation to do sit ups (Psh, riiiiiight). Still, I loves it.

IMG_4649

But not bad for a dollar huh?

4 thoughts on “The One Dollar Skirt

Leave a Reply

